Home > Questions, Tekkenomics Vault > Tekkenomics Vault: Questions

Tekkenomics Vault: Questions

  • Last Updated: June 6, 2006
  • My Comments: This is a list of Tekken related questions that I have received during the time the original Tekkenomics website was still up.

Later,
Wild Man X

image001

In this section, you can view responses to Tekken related questions that I have received.


Q1:  Where did the name “Tekkenomics” come from?

Back in my high school days in the year 2000, Paulinstein, me, and some other high school friends would get together to play Tekken 3.  At the time, we were also taking Economics class.  So, whenever we would get together to play, we would say that we were going to study some “Tekkenomics”.
So, basically “Tekken” + “Economics” = “Tekkenomics”.

Back to Top

Q2:  How does Yoshimitsu stab himself with his “Suicide” move and not get damaged?  Is that random or only works for certain conditions?

It is possible for Yoshimitsu to not get damaged, or even get a perfect after stabbing himself.  Since Yoshimitsu receives his damage after the opponent receives theirs after Yoshimitsu’s stabbing moves connect, it is possible for him to not receive any damage after performing his “Suicide” and “Reverse Harakiri” moves.  The catch is that you have to finish off your opponent with either one of these two moves.

Back to Top

Q3:  I would like to know if you guys could help me with this of registering the Tekken 5 machine. Is the serial on the back of the machine or do I have to talk with the manager?

When I registered the Tekken 5 machine that I play on, I used the 5 digit number that’s on the front, near the coin slot (NOTE: This may not be the correct number, but it will still work). The number should be on a small silver rectangle.  Then just enter all of the info HERE.

Back to Top

Q4:  I am having a big problem executing the Soul Omen for Jin Kazama. Please could you give me an exact detail step by step on how to do this?

I believe that the move that you are referring to is: Soul Omen
b+1+2#, d, u, b, f

First, you will do Jin’s “b+1+2” move, but when performing the move, you will continue to hold down the “1+2” for the rest of the move.

So, right after doing the “b+1+2”, you should still be holding down “1+2”, then do “d, u, b, f”.

For the Soul Omen, you can either input it very fast, or at a normal pace. If you do it in practice mode in Tekken4, you should see the words “Power Stance” and then “Mental Alertness”. If you see this, then you did the hidden move correctly.  You can see a video of this Hidden Move in the Videos section.

Back to Top

Q5:  How do you set up in the Practice mode so that the CPU does a parry?  I noticed that there is a section where you can choose certain moves that the opponent will do and learn how to defend yourself from those attacks.  But for some reason, they won’t let me choose the “parry” from the moves list.

Well, like you said, there is no way to select this move in the CPU move list, but there is a way around it. The steps below assume that you begin Practice mode with the first player controller (1P). 1. In Practice mode, under the “Freestyle” menu, set “Training Dummy” to “Controller”. This will allow you to use the second controller (2P) in Practice mode.
2. On the 1P controller user “Freestyle”, set “Command Capture” to “ON”. This will let you record commands for the 1P controller.
3. Now, exit the menu by pressing the start button.
4. From STEP 3, you will notice the “Command Capture” controls in the lower right hand corner of the screen. Now, on the 1P controller, press “SELECT + CIRCLE” and record a parry for the fighter.
5. For the 1P to perform the move once, just press “SELECT + X”. If you want the 1P to perform the move an infinite number of times (which is most likely what you will want), press “SELECT + SQUARE” (which is a hidden option that I figured out). 6. Now, use the 2P controller to try to practice doing “Chicken”, or whatever you want.

Back to Top

Q6:  How do you block King and Roger Jr’s Frankensteiner (d/f+3+4)?  I keep holding BACK on the controller, but it doesn’t work.

The Frankensteiner hits “mid”, but it’s a special case that must be blocked as if it was a low attack.  So, the only way to really block the move is to do a crouch block (d/b).

Back to Top

Q7:  I see the name “Tekkenomics” at several websites.  Are all of those related to you?

Not all of those are related to this website.  There are some members on the Tekken Zaibatsu forums that are known as Tekkenomics, Tekkenomics_101, and TekkenNomics Jr. that have nothing to do with this website.  On Tekken Zaibatsu, we go by the names Wild Man X and Paulinstein.

The ones that are related to us are at: GameFAQs, Neoseeker, IGN, 1UP.com, Gamerhelp, Gamespot, AIM, MSN Messenger, Hotmail, and Gmail

Back to Top

Q8:  How do you escape from throws?

Most throws can be escaped by pressing 1, 2, or 1+2 while you are in the process of being grabbed.
1+3 grab is escaped by pressing 1, and 2+4 grab is escaped by pressing 2.
If you want to know which button to press for all of the other grabs, all of the information can be found in Tekken 5 Move Lists, located on this website.

Back to Top

Q9:  Where can I download more combo videos?

You can go to the following locations:
Tekken Web Theater at Tekken Zaibatsu
Bit Torrent Tracker at Tekken Zaibatsu (requires Bit Torrent)
Media at Arcade Pimp (requires Bit Torrent)
Media at Tekken.net (requires a free membership account)
Videos at TekkenTreff

You can download Bit Torrent from the official website:
http://www.bittorrent.com/

Back to Top

Q10:  Is Jinpachi Unlockable?

Jinpachi isn’t unlockable, but you can play with him using a cheat device, like Gameshark or Action Replay MAX. You can find Action Replay MAX codes here: http://www.codejunkies.com/
I’m not sure where to find the Gameshark codes for Jinpachi. The last time that I checked, they weren’t on the Gameshark website. So, if you don’t have one of these yet, I would recommend the Action Replay MAX.
There is NO WAY to play as Jinpachi without a cheat device.

Back to Top

Q11:  Where can I get Frame Data for Tekken 5?

Tekken Zaibatsu has recently been updating their website with Tekken 5 frame data.
You can find it at the following link: Tekken 5 – Frame Data

Back to Top

Q12:  How did you guys come up with the names “Wild Man X” and “Paulinstein”?

Back in Junior High, I got the name “Wild Man” from playing basketball.  In my sophomore year of High School, my aunt bought me DMX’s first CD, “It’s Dark and Hell Is Hot” right before I went to Cross Country Camp (Running Camp).  That was one of the only CD’s that I had, and I listened to it many times.  Since “DMX” means “Dark Man X”, I decided to add an “X” at the end of my nickname and now its “Wild Man X”, or “WMX” for short.

Paulinstein’s explanation is simpler, although I don’t know if there’s a story behind his: “Paul” + “Einstein” = “Paulinstein”

Back to Top

Q13:  I’m just enquiring about the Tekken course.  How do you get into this?

Even though I would like to do it, there isn’t going to be an “actual” course.  However, I have responded to any and all questions sent to tekkenomics@hotmail.com for people who have sent an e-mail with the subject having something to do with Tekken, which I will continue to do.  I’ve also spent a lot of time working on Tekken 5 FAQ files, which can be found on this website.

The “online course” thing is still a theme for the website, since my goal is to give people info about Tekken.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to teach people something new in the process.

Back to Top

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

